Skip to content

Metal From Finland Online Store


MFF Blogs are at!


Genre: Viking Metal, Metal, Folk Metal  |  Status: Active  |  Viewed: 34507 times

TURISAS Announce 2014 European Tour; Turisas2013 Track-By-Track Video Streaming

08 November 2013

TURISAS have released a track-by-track video breaking down the tracks on their new album, Turisas2013 (out now). The footage can be found below. In other news, the band have announced dates for a full European tour in 2014.   Tour dates include: January 31 - Gothenburg, Sweden - Sticky Fingers February 1 - Copenhagen, Denmark - Pumpehuset 2 - Hamburg, Germany - Logo 3 - Frankfurt, Germany - Batschkapp 4 - Stuttgart, Germany - Universum 5 - Winterthur, Switzerland - Salzhaus 6 - Dornbirn, Austria - Conrad Sohm 7 - Bologna, Italy - Zona Roveri 8 - Romagnano Sesia, Italy - Rock’n’Roll Arena 9 - Lyon, France - Ninkasi Kao 11 - Bordeaux, France - Rockschool Barbey 12 - Madrid, Spain - Shoko 13 - Barcelona, Spain - Razzm

Read the whole article »

Browse band info


Imagine a time when warriors strode the earth. A time when battle-painted warrior-poets sang of battles and heady feats of heroism, myth intermingled with fact, and romantic notions of adventure on the high seas sparked the imagination. The time is now, because so-called battle metal maestros TURISAS – named after their homeland's ancient god of war – are bringing back the old school. As in, 1000 AD. “This comes from somewhere deep inside,” is the only way founder and chieftain songwriter Mathias 'Warlord' Nygård can describe both his music and the inspiration behind it. “We play around with history, there's fantasy imagery there, but I hate fantasy metal with all those dragons or whatever. There's no substance there. We actually believe in what we're doing.”

Be afraid. With festival appearances across the board – Wacken, Tuska, Earthshaker, Party.San, Bloodstock, Nummirock, Summer Breeze, not forgetting an uproarious sold-out UK tour with compatriots Lordi – it was no surprise when readers of the UK's Metal Hammer magazine voted TURISAS 'Best New Band' in their 2006 Reader's Poll. It's because there's simply no one else like them. With 2004's debut 'Battle Metal', a thrilling folk-flecked tour de force, they already established themselves as a genre of one. Now they're upping the ante with “The Varangian Way”, the most singularly ambitious album of the year. Recorded at Sound Supreme Studio and mastered at Finnvox, this metal-clad 8-song battlecry is awash in epic themes, eastern-european folk, and an abiding belief in the almighty power of the riff. “We didn't do this the rock ‘n’ roll way,” adds Nygård . “The music was written around the story, to create a certain atmosphere and take you on this journey.” With stunning cover artwork by graphic artist, illustrator and designer John Coulthart (Cradle Of Filth, Hawkwind, poster and cover art for spoken word albums by writer Alan Moore ["Watchmen", "V for Vendetta"]) Varangians, in case you slept through your Medieval Scandinavian history course, were 11th century vikings who travelled southward through the Baltic and then east on an epic quest for glory. Awash in orchestral inspiration, stomping riffs and skewering hooks, this is what you want on your iPod when you're pillaging a village or plotting a new course through an unexplored continent. Sure, they have a violin and accordion player with a penchant for playing Slayer covers. And yes – they wear furs and war paint. Don't let that fool you. “Ok, people think this is crazy but there's a reason why it works. We aren't Lordi,” says Nygård. “There are so many interesting, inspiring old stories that are still connected to our reality. These aren’t just meaningless lyrics, we're telling a tale here.” With already confirmed slots at Download (mainstage) Graspop, With Full Force, Rock Hard Festival, Tuska, and plans for a relentless, take-no-prisoners tour already underway, 2007 is the year TURISAS take the world by storm. Join them on their quest, to Holmgard, and beyond!

Top of page

News related to Turisas

Top of page



Battle Metal

  • Label: Century Media
  • Released: 2004

View all lyrics from "Battle Metal"

The Varangian Way

  • Label: Century Media
  • Released: 2007

View all lyrics from "The Varangian Way"

Stand Up And Fight

  • Label: Century Media
  • Released: 2011
  • 1. The March Of The Varangian Guard
  • 2. Take The Day!
  • 3. Hunting Pirates
  • 4. Venetoi! ? Prasinoi!
  • 5. Stand Up And Fight
  • 6. The Great Escape
  • 7. Fear The Fear
  • 8. End Of An Empire
  • 9. The Bosphorus Freezes Over

Single / EP / MCD

The Heart of Turisas

  • Label: SB Productions
  • Released: 2001
  • 1. The Heart of Turisas
  • 2. Till The Last Man Falls
  • 3. Those Were The Days
Reviews for "The Heart of Turisas"

Encyclopaedia Metallum (submitted reviews)

To Holmgard And Beyond (Single)

  • Label: Century Media
  • Released: 2007
  • 1. To Holmgard And Beyond (single edit)
  • 2. A Portage To The Unknown
  • 3. Rex Regi Rebellis (Finnish Version)
  • 4. Battle Metal (Live Partysan Festival ´06 )

Demo / Promo

Taiston Tie - The Battle Path (Demo Tape)

  • Label: Self
  • Released: 1998
  • 1. Taiston Tie
  • 2. Kohti Pohjoista
  • 3. The Tale Of The Blacksmith
  • 4. Rae

Promo 99 (Demo Tape)

  • Label: Self
  • Released: 1999
  • 1. Terra Tavestorum
  • 2. The Heart Of Turisas

Top of page


Jussi Wickström
Guitars 1997 -
Hannes Horma
Warlord Nygård
'Lisko' Mäkinen
Olli Vänskä
Tude Lehtonen

Former members

Sami Aarnio
Georg Laakso
Tino Ahola