Skip to content

Metal From Finland Online Store


MFF Blogs are at!

Mors Principium Est

Genre: Thrash Metal, Metal, Death Metal  |  Status: Active  |  Viewed: 12679 times

MORS PRINCIPIUM EST: Studio Diary Part 1

24 September 2014

Watch MORS PRINCIPIUM EST going crazy on energy drinks and shredding their riffs with this Studio Diary Part 1.   Studio sessions for the album "Dawn of the 5th Era", to be released on December 05th (EUR) and December 02nd (US)!

Read the whole article »

Browse band info


In the beginning, back in the year 1999 in Pori, Finland, MORS PRINCIPIUM EST was established by the three founding members Jori, Jarkko and Toni. Percussion instruments were missing, but later in the same year Mikko joined the band to play the drums. Jori was playing lead guitar and vocals, Jarkko guitar and Toni keyboards. The band played for a while with this set, but in the beginning of year 2000 Jori got tired of singing and wanted to concentrate only in guitar. New singer was needed.

Meanwhile Ville had just left his old band and was looking for something new. He contacted the band and after audition he became the new vocalist. First demo was made without bass-player, but after Listenable Records got interested of the band a fulltime bass-player became necessary to find. In the year 2001 Teemu joined the band to play bass-guitar. Two more demos and few gigs were made and finally the hard work got rewarded.

2002 Listenable Records offered contract and the band signed a contract for 3 albums. The debut album "Inhumanity" was recorded & mixed by Ahti Kortelainen in Finland at Tico-Tico Studios, in December 2002 and mastered at Finnvox Studios, in January 2003. Album was released at spring 2003.

Second album "The Unborn" was recorded at Tico-Tico Studios, in November 2004 and mastered at Finnvox Studios, in December 2004. Album was released at spring 2005, except in USA it was released at the end of 2005.

Top of page




  • Label: Listenable Records
  • Released: 2003

View all lyrics from "Inhumanity"

The Unborn

  • Label: Listenable Records
  • Released: 2005

View all lyrics from "The Unborn"

Liberation = Termination

  • Label: Listenable Records
  • Released: 2007

View all lyrics from "Liberation = Termination"

... And Death Said Live

  • Label: AFM Records
  • Released: 2012
  • 1. The Awakening
  • 2. Departure
  • 3. I Will Return
  • 4. Birth of the Starchild
  • 5. Bringer of Light
  • 6. Ascension
  • 7. ...and Death Said Live
  • 8. Destroyer of All
  • 9. What The Future Holds?
  • 10. The Meadows of Asphodel
  • 11. Dead Winds of Hope

Demo / Promo

Before Birth (Demo)

  • Label:
  • Released: 2000
  • 1. Forever And A Day
  • 2. Last Apprentice (lyrics)
  • 3. Moriere

View all lyrics from "Before Birth (Demo)"

Valley Of Sacrifice (Demo)

  • Label:
  • Released: 2001
  • 1. Invocation (Intro)
  • 2. Valley Of Sacrifice Part 1
  • 3. Sin Defeats All Hope
  • 4. Valley Of Sacrifice Part 2

Third Arrival (Demo)

  • Label:
  • Released: 2002
  • 1. Another Existance
  • 2. Eternity´s Child (lyrics)
  • 3. Last Apprentice (2002) (lyrics)

View all lyrics from "Third Arrival (Demo)"

Top of page


Tomy Laisto
Guitars 2007 -
Teemu Heinola
Bass 2001 -
Mikko Sipola
Drums 2000 -
Ville Viljanen
Vocals 2000 -
Jarkko Kokko
Guitars 1999 -
Tom Gardiner

Former members

Karri Kuisma
Guitars 2006 -
Jori Haukio
Guitars 1999 - 2006
Toni Nummelin
Keyboards 1999 - 2004