Skip to content

Metal From Finland Online Store


MFF Blogs are at!


Genre: Thrash Metal  |  Status: Active  |  Viewed: 18464 times

MOKOMA Release 'Valkoista kohinaa' Video

01 October 2012

MOKOMA have released a new single, 'Valkoista kohinaa'. The official video is available below: MOKOMA's ninth full-length album "180 Astetta" will be released on October 19th and will be followed by the “Kerran vielä pojat ja sitten vielä pari kertaa 2012”-tour. Confirmed dates are as follow: 19.10. Lahti, Finlandia-klubi 26.10. Oulu, Teatria 27.10. Kajaani, Balls 02.11. Turku, Caribia Metal Halloween 03.11. Helsinki, Tavastia-klubi 09.11. Hämeenlinna, Sirkus 10.11. Seinäjoki, Rytmikorjaamo 16.11. Joensuu, Kerubi 17.11. Jyväskylä, Lutakko 23.11. Pori, Bar Kino 24.11. Harjavalta, Night Factory 30.11. Lappeenranta, Wiltsu 01.12. Helsinki, Nosturi 07.12. Kouvola, House of Rock 08.

Read the whole article »

Browse band info


MOKOMA's story is one of the most inspiring in the history of Finnish Metal and music business. Past three years of the band celebrate their unbelievable rise from being the underdogs dropped by a major company to being the top dogs with their own label.

MOKOMA was signed to EMI, and released two albums "Valu" (1999) and "MOKOMAn 120 päivää" (2001). Both albums sold poorly and when MOKOMA introduced their idea about an album based on Thrash Metal songs, EMI dropped them. Since no other company was interested either, band decided to set up their own label, Sakara Records, and release the album on their own. Rest is history. Their first two albums with their own label "Kurimus" (2003) and "Tämän maailman ruhtinaan hovi" (2004) were both benchmark records. "Kurimus" is regarded as the first Thrash Metal album sung in Finnish. It was hailed in unison by audience and media for bringing fresh air into the Finnish metal scene. It shipped less than 200 copies, but sold eventually more than 6000.

Success came with active touring. In April 2003, at their album release party in Helsinki, MOKOMA played in as-measly-as-it-gets rock bar for about hundred people. Seven months and dozens of shows later, in November, MOKOMA ended their tour at sold-out Tavastia, the number one rock club in Finland.

Immediately after the tour to support "Kurimus" was over, MOKOMA headed back to studio. "Tämän maailman ruhtinaan hovi" came out in May 2004, and shot up straight to number 2 in the official Finnish album chart. The only album ahead was the debut of a Finnish Idols finalist, released the same day. Talking about perfect contrast: TV format generated artist on a major label and the self-made indie metal heroes back-to-back on the chart. In total "TMRH" spent 13 weeks in the Finnish top 40.

"TMRH" topped all the expectations set after the success of "Kurimus", and sold nearly 10.000 copies. "Uni saa tulla" became a radio hit, thus widening MOKOMA's audience. Again MOKOMA concreted its success by touring like there's no tomorrow. Be it a small club or the main stage of a major festival, the audience has learned to trust that MOKOMA always delivers an ecstatic show. All this resulted in the 2004 polls where MOKOMA was a top act. For example in the annual Finnish Metal Awards, Sirkkelirock, MOKOMA was awarded as The Band of the Year and "TMRH" as The Album of the Year. They were also nominated for Emma Award, the Finnish equivalent of Grammy.

MOKOMA is definitely one of Finland's best live bands, and a fair portion of their live energy is captured on the self titled DVD, released before Christmas 2004. It was an instant success, rocketing to number one on the Finnish DVD chart. Within couple of months it sold more than 5.000 copies. In comparison, multi-platinum bands as The Rasmus and HIM have sold about as many of their recent DVDs in Finland.

In 2005 MOKOMA didn't release any new material, but still did a sold-out club tour and performed in almost all of the major summer festivals in Finland.

To start the year 2006 MOKOMA released their 5th studio album "Kuoleman laulukunnaat", which deputed in the Official Finnish Chart as number 1. MOKOMA does an extensive club tour in March-May 2006 to promote their album, and after that they will perform in all major Finnish summer festivals.

Top of page

News related to Mokoma

Top of page




  • Label: EMI Finland
  • Released: 1999

View all lyrics from "Valu"

Mokoman 120 päivää

  • Label: EMI Finland
  • Released: 2001

View all lyrics from "Mokoman 120 päivää"


  • Label: Sakara Records
  • Released: 2003

View all lyrics from "Kurimus"

Tämän maailman ruhtinaan hovi

  • Label: Sakara Records
  • Released: 2004

View all lyrics from "Tämän maailman ruhtinaan hovi"

Kuoleman laulukunnaat

  • Label: Sakara Records
  • Released: 2006

View all lyrics from "Kuoleman laulukunnaat"

Luihin ja ytimiin

  • Label: Sakara Records
  • Released: 2007

View all lyrics from "Luihin ja ytimiin"


  • Label: Sakara Records
  • Released: 2010

View all lyrics from "Sydänjuuret"


  • Label: Sakara
  • Released: 2011
  • 1. Ei kahta sanaa (ilman kolmatta)
  • 2. Mene ja tiedä
  • 3. Haudan takaa
  • 4. Kuu saa valtansa auringolta
  • 5. Kiellän itseni
  • 6. Hei hei heinäkuu
  • 7. Sydän paikallaan
  • 8. En elä talven yli
  • 9. Sinä riität
  • 10. Nujerra ihminen
  • 11. Silmäterä
  • 12. Valapatto
  • 13. Sydänjuuret

180 astetta

  • Label: Sakara
  • Released: 2012
  • 1. Uusi Aamu
  • 2. Valkoista kohinaa
  • 3. Punamultaa
  • 4. Uskalla Elää
  • 5. Ajan Hermo
  • 6. Kuinka Kävi Näin
  • 7. Ihmisenpyörä
  • 8. Kuollut, Kuolleempi, Kuollein
  • 9. Virsi no. 5
  • 10. Illan Henki
  • 11. Vapaa

Single / EP / MCD


  • Label: EMI Finland
  • Released: 1999
  • 1. Kasvan

Perspektiivi CDS

  • Label: EMI Finland
  • Released: 1999
  • 1. Perspektiivi

Seitsemän sinetin takana CDS

  • Label: EMI Finland
  • Released: 2001
  • 1. Seitsemän sinetin takana
  • 2. Reitti

Rajapyykki CDS

  • Label: EMI Finland
  • Released: 2001
  • 1. Rajapyykki
  • 2. Turhaan tänne tulleet

Takatalvi MP3 single

  • Label: Sakara Records
  • Released: 2003

Punainen kukko EP

  • Label: Sakara Records
  • Released: 2003

View all lyrics from "Punainen kukko EP"

Hiljaisuuden julistaja MP3 Single

  • Label: Sakara Records
  • Released: 2004
  • 1. Hiljaisuuden julistaja MP3

Viides vuodenaika EP

  • Label: Sakara Records
  • Released: 2006

View all lyrics from "Viides vuodenaika EP"

Juurta jaksain

  • Label: Sakara Records
  • Released: 2010
  • 1. Ei enää askeltakaan
  • 2. Maailmantappiin
  • 3. Huomenhaamu
  • 4. Musta Katras
  • 5. Taakka
  • 6. Sydänjuuret (acoustic version)

Top of page


Marko Annala
Vocals 1996 -
Kuisma Aalto
Guitars 1997 -
Janne Hyrkäs
Drums 1999 -
Santtu Hämäläinen
Bass 2003 -
Tuomo Saikkonen
Guitars 1997 -

Former members

Mikko Ruokonen
Drums 1999 - 1999
Juhana Tuomas 'Pätkä' Rantala
Drums 1999 - 1999
Roope Laasonen
Keyboards 1997 - 1997
Heikki Kärkkäinen
Bass 1997 - 2003
Janne Hynynen
Drums 1997 - 1999
Raikko Törönen
Drums 1999 - 1999

Contact Info:

Dex Viihde
Janne Tokola
+35844 520 3335
janne.tokola [at]

Sakara Records
+358400 252 756
info [at]

Playground Music Scandinavia
Tommi Muhli
tommi [at]