Skip to content

Metal From Finland Online Store


MFF Blogs are at!

For My Pain

Genre: Gothic Metal, Metal, Rock  |  Status: Active  |  Viewed: 30994 times

FOR MY PAIN...: 'Fallen' To Receive U.K. Release

20 February 2009

FOR MY PAIN…, the Finnish "goth metal" supergroup featuring Tuomas Holopainen (NIGHTWISH) on keyboards, Altti Veteläinen (ETERNAL TEARS OF SORROW) on bass, Lauri Tuohimaa (EMBRAZE) on guitar, Olli-Pekka Törrö (ETERNAL TEARS OF SORROW) on guitar, Juha Kylmänen (REFLEXION) on vocals, and Petri Sankala (ETERNAL TEARS OF SORROW) on drums, will have its 2003 debut album, "Fallen", released in the U.K. via Spinefarm Records. In addition to the 10 tracks featured on the original release, "Fallen" — mixed by Mikko Karmila, a man who has shaped the sound of Finlands foremost rock acts — will come with the U.K.-only bonus track "Killing Romance", a chart single in Finland back in 2004."Fallen" was recorded

Read the whole article »

Browse band info


The first idea of For My Pain... was born during the autumn 1999, when Altti Veteläinen (EToS) and Petri Sankala (EToS) were planning on forming a new gothic-style band. The guys thought over suitable members into the band and decided to ask if their old friends Tuomas Holopainen (Nightwish) and Lauri Tuohimaa (Embraze/Maple Cross) would be interested in this kind of idea. Both became interested in the project but unfortunatelly everybody were still too busy with their own bands and the idea of the new project was decided to be postponed into the future.

Couple of years later Altti and Petri started to warm the band idea up again. This time the timing was right, because Eternal Tears of Sorrow was on a break and also Nightwish was planning to have a small pause due to Tarja's studies in Germany. The band was still lacking of another guitar player and a singer, so the ex-Eternal Tears of Sorrow dude Olli-Pekka Törrö and Juha Kylmänen from Reflexion were asked to join the band.

The guys started to compose and rehearse material for the first album and finally they were ready to enter the studio in spring 2001. The debut album "Fallen" was recorded by Ahti Kortelainen in Tico-Tico studio, which is one of the most famous and the best known metal studios in Finland. The mixing of the album took place in January 2002 in Finnvox studios by Mikko Karmila and the final touch was given by Mika Jussila at Finnvox mastering studios. This powerful trio managed to create heavy, but at the same time very atmospheric soundscape into the album.

The whole package was finished by wonderful artwork by Travis Smith. The cover artwork differs from ordinary goth album covers by its refreshing colour scheme and the overall icy look.

The "Fallen" album contains ten tracks of gothic / atmospheric metal, which exude dark melancholy veiled in beautiful and catchy melody lines.

the studio dates for the second full length album have been posponed until sometime in 2007, as some of the band members are busy with their main projects, appologies to those who are anxiously waiting...

Top of page

News related to For My Pain

Top of page




  • Label: Spinefarm Records
  • Released: 2003

View all lyrics from "Fallen"

Reviews for "Fallen"

Metal Observer

Single / EP / MCD

Killing Romance

  • Label:
  • Released: 2004
  • 1. Killing Romance
  • 2. Joutsenlaulu
  • 3. Too Sad to Live

Top of page


Olli-Pekka Törrö
Guitars 1999 -
Lauri Tuohimaa
Guitars 1999 -
Juha Kylmänen
Vocals 1999 -
Altti Veteläinen
Bass 1999 -
Tuomas Holopainen
Keyboards 1999 -
Petri Sankala
Drums 1999 -